Skip to toolbar

Home Forums Instruments Electric Guitar Electric is Easier!

10 replies, 4 voices Last updated by  Edith 2 years, 4 months ago
  • Author

Rob G
    Participant
    @Rob_G

I bet that subject line will get some attention. 🙂

So, as a 100% Total Noob at guitar, after buying an acoustic, I got to try an electric at my instructor’s house. I found it to be MUCH easier to play. A combination of lighter strings (9’s vs 13’s) and the nature of the electric just made it much easier to get good sound out of it.

So now I have one of each, but I do switch between the two depending on my mood.

Stephanie
    Participant
    @stephmcg123

Hahaha, nice subject Rob! 🙂 I’m totally new, too, and learning on the acoustic makes my fingers HURT! It’s coming along, though, and doesn’t hurt now like it did a few weeks ago, with daily practice. However, I’m with you: I want one of each, and my next purchase will be an electric.

Rob G
    Participant
    @Rob_G

Yeah, my fingers were hurting bigtime trying to play my acoustic, especially with the big thick strings on it (13’s). I’ve since put 11’s on my acoustic and it’s MUCH easier to play, and the coated strings don’t hurt as much either.

I tend to switch between acoustic and electric.. I love the pure sound of the acoustic, but I also love all the neat stuff you can do on the electric.

Stephanie
    Participant
    @stephmcg123

I succumbed to the “electric is easier” title and bought one… 🙂
    It’s a second-hand Squier Vintage Modified 70’s strat. Can’t wait to start tearin’ it up!

Rob G
    Participant
    @Rob_G

That’s sweet!! The Strat seems to be the most iconic electric guitar and probably the most popular. I’ll probably end up with one eventually. 🙂

I’m eager to hear what you think of yours and how it compares to your acoustic.

Stephanie
    Participant
    @stephmcg123